JD Salinger’s Unpublished Stories

by {V}

I don’t know when I first wanted to be a writer but I’m pretty sure it had something to do with The Catcher In The Rye. Here is a prequel to the story that put me at ease with all my teenage angst. The Ocean Full of Bowling Balls reads a lot like a chapter from Catcher; it follows Holden’s eldest brother – ironically named Vincent (he later becomes D.B. in Catcher) – and the events surrounding the death of Holden’s older brother, Kenneth.

I downloaded the other two stories, but haven’t read them yet. Something about this story just grabbed me. It’ll probably be years before I actually grasp what “bowling balls” mean, just like it look me several years out of high school to fully understand Catcher, and the sociopaths it empowered. This story, if nothing else, solidifies for me that Salinger was a wonderful, brilliant writer.

{V}

