Our Journey Begins

Origin Story.

Let’s get this out of the way for any uninitiated: My name is Vinny. I will often refer to myself in the third person, e.g. “Great job, Vinny.” There is a 99.9% chance this will be sarcastic.

I have a 6 month puppy named Oberyn, after Oberyn Martell from A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones. I will often refer to him as “Obie,” because it’s quicker and easier to type.

I own a house, a car, started a new job after ~6 years, and I’m 3 months removed from a ~3 year relationship. I don’t know, that just seems like it might come up later and I don’t wanna have to go explaining it.

 

Call to Adventure.

In case you hadn’t figured it out, I’m cribbing these titles from the monomyth (aka Joseph Campbell’s “Hero’s Journey”). That Wikipedia article is a good way to kill some time. Anyway, why am I blogging again? I mentioned the new job above; well, I work from home now. There’s is absolutely nothing I can complain about regarding that. However, it does mean it’s just me and the dog here all damn day, and the dog is shitty conversationalist. So instead of talking myself and listening to Matthew Sweet’s “Girlfriend” on repeat, I’m blogging… and listening to Matthew Sweet’s “Girlfriend” on repeat.

The new job, new puppy, and new single life is essentially my “Crossing the Threshold.” It’s a brave new world (complete with naked savages and sex drugs). It feels a lot like starting over, which is a pretty terrifying prospect while staring down 30 (okay, 30 is still a bit in the distance, but it’s there).

 

 What Lies Ahead.

I’m starting to dip my toe back into dating. This is exhausting. The last time I dated I was 25 and I felt old then. I have friends on their second marriages and third kids. And don’t get me wrong, I’d rather not have alimony or child support payments due, but being the one single friend of all the couples around me is a little weird. I’m a stuffed woodchuck and a relationship with Alanis Morrisette away from being Uncle Joey.

I’m going to a Homebrew Jamboree/camping trip this weekend and then my friends Matt and Sara are getting married next weekend. So at least I’m keeping busy and not buying any cats.

