I Wrote Something Today

I wrote something this morning (besides this). It was actually the first time in a long time I wrote something – anything – creative. I hate every word of it; it’s cliche and derivative; it’ll probably never see the light of day, but I wrote it.

I woke up earlier than normal this morning. Usually I wake up to feed the dog at 7am and then go back to bed until around 9am when I get up for work. For whatever reason, the dog let me sleep until about 8am (I don’t set an alarm, we wake up on his schedule), and I didn’t feel like it was worthwhile to crawl back into bed.

And in that haze of half-sleep, this series of images came into my mind. They were visually appealing so I let my mind wander over them while I made coffee and Obie ate his breakfast. They started to congeal into a scene – cliche and derivative, like I said – and I started to sour on the idea of writing it down. So I checked my phone:

Avoid Self-Censoring to Keep Your Ideas Flowing

Oh, well then. So I wrote it down. Only 120 words, but something. And as my fingers tapped the keys, this faceless character in a disheveled black and white suit became “Jessie.” Jessie became a man. Jessie became a teenage girl. Jessie might actually be dead…

Well, shit, random headline. You were right.

One thought on “I Wrote Something Today

  1. […] Between the meditation and the constant exercise, I’m not only sleeping better, but I’m waking earlier and hitting the ‘snooze’ button a lot less. The extra time in the morning has allowed me to feel less stressed about rushing to get tasks done, and has allowed me to get back to writing and blogging. […]

Comments are closed.