Wanton Solicitations

I was talking with my best friend tonight; asking him if he’d read anything good recently. He told me he was “reading a book by JK Rowling, but the dog ate it.” Knowing his dog, this wasn’t just a clever line. He followed up that the dog had done him a favor, and he was going to re-read some Flannery O’Connor.

I actually remember that he came upon Flannery O’Connor through the TV show “LOST.” The character Jacob is reading Everything That Rises Must Converge on a park bench.

I came upon William Gay through a required reading in a high school class. It was the short story “Where Will You Go When Your Skin Cannot Contain You?” To this day, that title is more brilliant than anything I’ve ever written or even thought. The story is a masterpiece. I inflicted Gay upon my friend, and we’ve been trading reading notes ever since.

But right now I feel bone-dry on reading material. So I’m turning to you, unwashed masses of the Internet. I’m looking for interesting stories to read, as I make a beleaguered foray back into writing.

For reference, here’s my current backlog of shit I need to get around to reading/finishing:

  • Blood of Elves – Andrzej Sapkowski
  • The Hero With a Thousand Faces – Joseph Campbell
  • “Providence” – Alan Moore
  • Provinces of Night – William Gay
  • Everything That Rises Must Converge – Flannery O’Connor
  • Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy (I didn’t give this a fair reading)

So lay your suggestions on me if you’ve got them.

3 thoughts on “Wanton Solicitations

    1. Truthfully, I find Campbell to be fascinating but incredibly dull. But having just read the synopsis for Denial of Death, it’s going on my to-read list. Thanks!

Comments are closed.